College of Education and Human Development

Department of Educational Psychology

Miller, Sullivan awarded $5.9 million grant to increase P12 student mental health support

Dr. Faith Miller
Dr. Faith Miller

Amanda Sullivan
Dr. Amanda Sullivan

Associate Professor Faith Miller and Birkmaier Education Leadership Professor Amanda Sullivan, both faculty in the Department of Educational Psychology’s school psychology program, have been awarded a $5.9 million mental health demonstration grant from the U.S. Department of Education to partner with Minneapolis Public Schools and South St. Paul School District to build capacity to support P12 student mental health.

The project will increase the number and diversity of school psychologists who can expand the capacity of high-need local education agencies (LEAs) through enhanced implementation of multi-tiered systems of support (MTSS) to aid youth mental health. It will also support graduate assistantships and supervisor development over the next five years and leverage collaborations with the Minnesota School Psychologists Association, the Minnesota Collective for Educational Equity, and the Center for Applied Research and Educational Improvement to expand and sustain impact.